“We have been making sparkling wine since 1979. We don’t associate it with status or prestige, but instead we reveal the tingling sensations hidden in our Chardonnay grapes. Sparkling and elegant, contemporary and approachable – Brut and Pas Dosé.”

Dieter Haas, president

Little moments can have big impacts. A long brunch with the family, lying on the couch reading a good book, seeing your closest friends – in our view it doesn’t always have to be a birthday, a wedding or New Year’s Eve, and you certainly don’t need oysters to enjoy a glass of sparkling wine.

Whether you’re after a tingling sense of joie de vivre or elegance bursting with character, Praeclarus Brut and Praeclarus Pas Dosé will turn your favourite moments into something very special. It’s always good to have a bottle in the fridge!

brut.png

Praeclarus Brut
Alto Adige DOC

Sparkling wine for all

Carefree flirting with the moment, pearls of South Tyrolean joie de vivre. Elegance, freshness, harmonic anc complexity open the door to the world of Praeclarus Brut. An intense and particularly fine, velvety bouquet of almond blossoms, peaches and apricots is accompanied by a hint of fresh hazelnuts and bread crusts. The basic wine is aged for several months in large wooden barrels, followed by at least 40 months of traditional bottle fermentation in our historic bunker.

Sparkling wine lovers will appreciate the very fine, dainty perlage – and doubters will be converted into fans.

Read more
Praeclarus Pas Dosé

Praeclarus Pas Dosé
Alto Adige DOC

Sparkling wine par excellence

The unmistakable pinnacle of our labours: 100% Chardonnay and zero dosage. Deeply rooted in the wine village of San Paolo and its history, with the tradition of Kellerei St. Pauls in sparkling wine production. Elegant, expressive and full of depth, the Praeclarus Pas Dosé shows off its special character after one year of aging in large wooden barrels followed by 60 months of resting on the fine lees in our historic bunker. The bubbles come at you in a particularly velvety way, with aromas of fine citrus fruits, a hint of white flowers, nuances of dried fruits, white peaches and ripe apricots, fresh mountain herbs, spiced bread and brioche.

This is an extraordinary, multi-layered vintage sparkling wine par excellence for connoisseurs, individualists and all who wish to make a celebration out of a special moment.

Read more

Since 1979

Our tradition of making sparkling wine began in 1979.

The pioneers Hans Ebner, Hansjörg Dona and Hans Kleon all put their heart and soul into the initial stages, now reinterpreted over the years by winemaker Wolfgang Tratter, who repeatedly sets new standards. The selected locations, at between 300 and 500 metres above sea level in San Paolo, remain unchanged to this day. Sun-kissed Chardonnay grapes; selective picking by hand; traditional bottle fermentation – all these reflect our aim of ever higher quality. 

Our desire to produce unmistakable sparkling wines, inspired by champagne but nonetheless typical of South Tyrol. These are not luxury products made just for the few, but rather sparkling wine varieties for anyone who wishes to have fun. All matured to perfection in our bunker, for drinking pleasure to the very last drop.

Praeclarus and art

Pearls of pleasure
and exuberant joie de vivre.

Bubbly bliss that tempts you to bathe in it; and a sparkling inspiration for South Tyrolean artist Robert Scherer who many years ago designed the first label for Praeclarus, with “The woman who bathes in sparkling wine”. Our promise to this day is to make a celebration of every moment: an attitude to life that now finds its contemporary expression in the illustrations of Giulia Neri.

The women who bathes in sparkling wine_engl

Praeclarus and art

Pearls of pleasure
and exuberant joie de vivre.

Bubbly bliss that tempts you to bathe in it; and a sparkling inspiration for South Tyrolean artist Robert Scherer who many years ago designed the first label for Praeclarus, with “The woman who bathes in sparkling wine”. Our promise to this day is to make a celebration of every moment: an attitude to life that now finds its contemporary expression in the illustrations of Giulia Neri.

The woman who bathes in sparkling wine

The "Sektbunker"

A historical relic
from the Second World War.

Built between 1937 and 1938 as the fourth line of defence near the village close to the Paulsner Feld. For decades after the war the bunker, which never had to fulfil its original purpose, slumbered undisturbed, concealed as a farmhouse. Since 1979 it has been home to our Praeclarus sparkling wine varieties where, surrounded by metre-thick walls, they age within its special architecture with its numerous remuage racks and small chambers, as well as a seasonally constant temperature of 12°C to 14°C. This world allows their tingling individuality to develop: which we can then savour, sip by sip.

Praeclarus Bunker

„Wir machen Sekt seit 1979. Damit assoziieren wir nicht Status und Prestige, sondern zeigen, was sich Prickelndes in unseren Chardonnay-Trauben verbirgt. Prickelnd und elegant, zeitgemäß und nahbar, Brut und Pas Dosé.“

Dieter Haas, Obmann

Kleine Momente mit großer Wirkung. Ein ausgiebiger Brunch mit der Familie, gemütlich ein gutes Buch auf der Couch lesen, ein Treffen mit deinen liebsten Freunden - wir finden, es muss nicht immer ein Geburtstag, eine Hochzeit oder Silvester sein, und man braucht auch keine Austern, um Sekt zu genießen.

Ob prickelnde Lebensfreude oder charakterstarke Eleganz: Praeclarus Brut und Praeclarus Pas Dosé machen deinen Lieblingsmoment zu einem ganz besonderen. Gut, immer eine Flasche im Kühlschrank zu haben.

brut.png

Praeclarus Brut
Südtirol DOC

Sekt für alle

Ein unbeschwerter Flirt mit dem Augenblick, verperlte Südtiroler Lebensfreude. Eleganz, Frische, Harmonie und Komplexität öffnen die Tür zur Welt des Praeclarus Brut. Ein intensives und besonders feines, samtiges Bouquet von Mandelblüten, Pfirsich und Aprikosen werden von einem leichten Hauch frischer Haselnuss und Brotkruste begleitet. Mehrmonatiger Ausbau des Grundweins im großen Holzfass und mindestens 40 Monate traditionelle Flaschengärung im historischen Bunker.

Die sehr feine, leichtfüßige Perlage wissen Sektliebhaber zu schätzen und machen Skeptiker zu Fans.

Mehr erfahren
Praeclarus Pas Dosé

Praeclarus Pas Dosé
Südtirol DOC

Sekt par excellence

Die unverwechselbare Spitze unserer Handwerkskunst. 100% Chardonnay und null Dosage. Tief verwurzelt mit dem Weindorf St. Pauls. Seiner Geschichte. Mit der Tradition der Kellerei St. Pauls in der Sektherstellung. Elegant, ausdrucksstark und voller Tiefe zeigt der Praeclarus Pas Dosé seine Besonderheiten nach dem einjährigen Ausbau im großen Holzfass und 60 Monaten Ruhe auf der Feinhefe im historischen Bunker: Feine Zitrusfrüchte, ein Hauch von weißen Blüten, Nuancen von Trockenfrüchten, weißem Pfirsich und reifer Marille, frischen Bergkräutern, Gewürzbrot und Brioche sprudeln einem besonders samtig entgegen.

Ein außergewöhnlicher und vielschichtiger Jahrgangssekt par excellence für Kenner, Individualisten und alle, die besondere Momente besonders feiern.

Mehr erfahren

Since 1979

Unsere Tradition der Sektherstellung beginnt 1979.

Was die Pioniere Hans Ebner, Hansjörg Dona und Hans Kleon damals mit Herzblut begonnen haben, hat Kellermeister Wolfgang Tratter im Laufe der Jahre immer wiederneu interpretiert und damit Maßstäbe gesetzt. Bis heute unverändert sind die ausgewählten Lagen zwischen 300 und 500 m Meereshöhe in St. Pauls. Sonnenverwöhnte Chardonnay-Trauben. Selektive Handlese. Traditionelle Flaschengärung. Unser Streben nach immer höherer Qualität.

Unser Wille, unverkennbaren Sekt zu produzieren, der an Champagner angelehnt aber dennoch typisch für Südtirol ist. Keine Luxusprodukte, die einem eingeschränkten Kreis vorbehalten sind, sondern Sektvarietäten, mit denen jeder Spaß haben kann, dem es gefällt. All das zur Perfektion gebunkert. Für Trinkfreude bis zum letzten Schluck.

Praeclarus und die Kunst

Perlender Genuss
und überschäumende Lebensfreude.

Prickelnde Glückseligkeit, in der man am liebsten baden möchte. Eine sprudelnde Inspiration für den Südtiroler Künstler Robert Scherer, als er vor vielen Jahren mit „Die Frau, die in Sekt badet“ die erste Etikette für den Praeclarus gestaltete. Bis heute unser Versprechen, jeden Moment zu einem Fest zu machen. Ein Lebensgefühl, das in den Illustrationen von Giulia Neri eine zeitgenössische Fortsetzung findet.

3 Flaschen - History

Praeclarus und die Kunst

Perlender Genuss
und überschäumende Lebensfreude.

Prickelnde Glückseligkeit, in der man am liebsten baden möchte. Eine sprudelnde Inspiration für den Südtiroler Künstler Robert Scherer, als er vor vielen Jahren mit „Die Frau, die in Sekt badet“ die erste Etikette für den Praeclarus gestaltete. Bis heute unser Versprechen, jeden Moment zu einem Fest zu machen. Ein Lebensgefühl, das in den Illustrationen von Giulia Neri eine zeitgenössische Fortsetzung findet.

Die Frau, die im Sekt badet

Der Sektbunker

Ein geschichtsträchtiges Übrigbleibsel
aus dem zweiten Weltkrieg.

Zwischen 1937 und 1938 als 4. Verteidigungslinie, in Dorfnähe vor dem Paulsner Feld erbaut. Jahrzehntelang schlummerte der Bunker, der seine ursprüngliche Aufgabe nie erfüllen musste, nach dem Krieg unter seiner Bauernhaus-Tarnkappe vor sich hin. Seit 1979 ist er mit seiner besonderen Architektur mit zahlreichen Rüttelpulten und kleinen Kammern sowie der jahreszeitlich unabhängigen, konstanten Temperatur zwischen 12° C und 14° C das Habitat unserer Praeclarus-Sektvarietäten. Umgeben von meterdicken Wänden reifen sie. Entwickeln in dieser Welt ihre prickelnden Besonderheiten. Und bringen sie uns Schluck für Schluck zurück.

Praeclarus Bunker